Victory

Standard

24 August 2013

Jane & Victory 

When this little girl was being born, she was coming out with a nuchal hand. I gently directed her hand closer to her face so she would not startle and thrust her hand out, causing her mother an unnecessary tear. As I did this, the baby girl grasped the littlest finger of my right hand.

Before the focused time of pushing with all her might, this girl’s mother had been distressed, even weeping, which is something I rarely see among Acholi women. I encouraged her in her labor. When she asked me to pray for her, I prayed.

Afterward, we named the baby Victory because her mother had the victory through this labor, and this little child, I pray, will have victory in her life, too.

p.s. Victory is the 7th baby I’ve caught here in Uganda!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

