Baby Sisters!

Standard

31 August 2013

Saturday was a busy day around here! I was up all night on Friday and caught the first baby of the day at 1:05 AM. That was a beautiful, peaceful birth of a baby girl in candle-light.

Then, around 10:30 AM, a woman arrived smiling and laughing and saying she was in labor. The degree of her happiness suggested her labor wasn’t very active. But she had walked all the way from her village to our birth center, so I checked her, and lo and behold, her cervix was at least 5 cm dilated and 50% effaced. Great! She went to sit outside in the sun.

Less than forty-five minutes later, she came crawling back inside with a very “active labor” expression on her face. I had barely got her into a room when she squatted, her water broke, and she got into the bed pushing! I had only a few seconds to put on gloves, sit down, guard the perineum, and catch the baby. Another sweet baby-girl! Meanwhile, every midwife in the place and half of the visitors in the birth center had rushed into the room to help … That baby made a very dramatic entrance into the world.

Later in the day, I had the chance to talk to the mothers about their daughters – and their names. One mother was named Grace and the other Gloria. (I was reminded of Hannah Hurnard’s book, Hinds’ Feet in High Places, because Grace-and-Glory is the new name given to the main character at the end of the allegorical story … ) Grace is also the meaning of my sister Anne’s name, and Gloria is the Latin form of my sister Glory’s name. So I asked the mothers if they would like the names Annie and Glory for their daughters, which would be like naming their daughters after their mothers but also after two of my sisters, and they said … yes, they would!

To me, it’s like these women are my sisters, and these babies are my baby-sisters. They are so special to me. Thank you, Lord, for these new lives.

One response »

Leave a Reply

