A Very Special Baby

Standard

21 August 2013 

I knew the Lord sent me to Gulu for a rest, but I didn’t hesitate to tell him that I was sad to miss the births of babies while I was away. And I heard him say, very clearly and distinctly, “I have a very special baby for you.” I wondered what that could mean.

I was back to work in the night and early morning after I got back, supporting another mother in labor. I caught the baby at 4:35 AM as he was born, the son of Adeno Faith. The next day, I was talking to Faith about this child, her family, and this idea that he was a very special baby. She told me that her grandfather had just passed away when this boy was being born. I was reminded of how my own niece, Ada, was born shortly after the death of my grandmother, my mother’s mother, Frances Taylor Bryan.

So we named this very special baby Moses Otai, because Moses had great faith in God – his mother’s name is Faith – and Otai because that was the grandfather’s name.

DSC00361

p.s. Did you know that the source of the Nile River, in which Moses’ mother placed him in a basket to save his life, is actually in Uganda and flows down into Egypt?

She named him Moses, ‘because,’ she said,’
‘I drew him out of the water.’ 

~ Exodus 2:10

“By faith, Moses, when he was grown up, refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter, choosing rather to be mistreated with the people of God than to enjoy the fleeting pleasures of sin … By faith, he left Egypt, not being afraid of the anger of the king, for he endured as seeing him who is invisible.” ~ Hebrews 11: 24-25

About Jane Beal

I’m a poet. When I was fifteen, I got my first regularly paying job as an optician, so I developed the habit of looking at things closely, through different lenses, and from different perspectives. I later became a professor and a midwife. So I like to share what I’ve learned with others in ways that are creative and meaningful, and I know how to care for pregnant mothers and welcome babies with love, which I’ve done in far-flung places like Chicago, Denver, San Francisco, Uganda, and the Philippines. I haven’t lost my faith in God despite everything I’ve seen – the opposite, rather – I am in awe of the Creator. I like zumba dancing and birdwatching. I love music. All of this (and more) goes into the poetry. Poetry bears witness to everything that matters in life. https://janebeal.wordpress.com

One response »

Leave a comment