The World Waiting for You

Standard

I felt your life pass through my hands.
When I laid my palm on your mother’s belly,
I felt you kick, hard and strong,
as you were pushing yourself out
toward the world waiting for you.

I felt your life pass through my hands.
I tried to catch the sound
of your erratic heartbeat through the fetoscope,
and I heard it without being able to count it,
jumping and pausing and turning away.

I felt your life pass through.
I watched the midwife work to ease your head out
—too large for an ordinary preterm child—
and I saw your malformed face, your bleeding head,
and your blue body, stillborn.

I felt your life pass.
When the midwife wrapped you in a cloth for burial,
and laid you beside your mother for a moment,
I tucked a bit of her blanket around you,
because you had gone to the world waiting for you.

Jane Beal
for the daughter Everlyne
stillborn 14 August 2013 at 7:37 AM

“Therefore prophesy and say to them, ‘Behold, I will open your graves and raise you from your graves, O my people. And I will bring you into the land of Israel. And you shall know that I am the LORD, when I open your graves, and raise you from your graves, O my people. And I will put my Spirit within you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land. Then you shall know that I am the LORD; I have spoken, and I will do it,’ declares the Lord.” ~ Ezekiel 37: 12-14

One response »

  1. God, who clothed the dry bones in the valley Elijah saw, will raise this little one of His, on the last day when He returns with the trumpet shout and the voice of the archangel! God and we will enjoy this wonderful child, his life and his purpose and his gifts. Our hope is in God, our Creator.

Leave a Reply

