God Makes Cool Connections – Part I

Standard

When I was a teenager, a man of prayer with the gift of prophecy named Bob Laflin was praying over me when he said that I would go places in the future that I could not imagine now. At the time, I thought to myself, I can imagine quite a lot! But what he said was true: I never knew that one day I would be going to Uganda in East Africa.

Over the past two years, God has been putting Uganda on my interior spiritual radar in a big way.  Some friends of mine started a sustainable, business-as-mission in northern Uganda called The Mango Project, and I thought it was just awesome. I had the chance to contribute three trees, and I thought about that often: I have three trees growing in a mango grove in Uganda! That made me happy.

Then, Janet Black, my department chair at Colorado Christian University, received a Fulbright to teach at the university in Kampala, the capitol of Uganda. Throughout the past year, she has been sending updates, and so I been thinking of her experience in Uganda frequently. I did not suspect, however, that when she returned to Colorado, I would be going to Uganda!

When that came about, one of our mutual colleagues in English, Professor Bernie Prokop,  suggested that we set up a little permanent CCU outpost in Uganda so that each one of the English faculty could go — one every year. Ha!

Meanwhile, my brother Andrew moved down to Lompoc, California with his beautiful bride, Debbie. I love these two so much!

My brother Andrew is a professional musician, and his wife is a dance teacher … and they have a neighbor who coordinated the hosting for an African choir on tour in the U.S. — and got my brother and his wife in on the opportunity to invite folks to stay with them. So, lo and behold, my brother now has dear friends in a Ugandan choir. (Of all the choirs in all the world, right?) The Mwamba Children’s Choir is raising money for an orphanage near Entebbe, Uganda: I AM Children’s Ministry. My brother’s friends, brothers and sisters in Christ, have offered to pick me up at the airport at Entebbe and get me to Kampala the next day so I can catch a ride north to the Mother Health International birth center where I will be serving as an assistant midwife. This kindness means so much to me, and it shows me once again that God has given Christians a family of faith around the world.

I will also be meeting another international midwife at the airport, Sarah, and we will be traveling together. I’m just amazed that God caused our paths to cross. I feel like I know her already!

God knows what he’s doing even when we do not. God makes cool connections!

“The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound,
but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going.
So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

~ John 3:8

Leave a Reply

